February 22, 2003

Virgin Islands

U.S. Virgin Islands

During the 17th Century, the Virgin Islands archipelago was divided into two territories - the British controlled the eastern half, the Dutch the western half. In 1917, the U.S. bought the western half and it remains a dependent territory.

The three main islands - St. Croix, St. John, and St. Thomas - are popular tourist cruise destinations.

Official Home Page

Posted by Solonor on February 22, 2003 12:45 PM